“All human wisdom is summed up in two words – wait and hope”

So! Guess what I’ve been thinking about lately? Yep, that’s right. Patience.

I’ll just cut to the chase. What exactly is patience? From my limited experience, I’ve found that there might be 2 kinds of ‘patience’: ‘people’ patience, and ‘things’ patience.

People patience can be described best in my father. You know the saying “He has the patience of Job?” Yep. My dad embodies that saying. (Although I don’t understand the etymology of that phrase. Why on earth do people say Job was patient? Has anybody actually read Job? He wasn’t that patient. At all. But I digress.)

You know what people patience is. Patience when you tell someone for the 47th time to take out the trash. Patience with someone when, no matter how hard they’re trying, they just can’t seem to get what the heck polynomials are. Being patient with someone *coughcoughMEcoughcough* is complaining about what so-and-so did last week that wasn’t so sensitive…

For some, people patience is easier for them than others. Those who know me well might say I have good people patience. Ha. They don’t hear all the mental ranting I do. But I’m still thankful for their comments. 😀

Anyway! Then there’s ‘things’ patience. Patience while you’re waiting in line at the grocery store. While you’re waiting for you sister to get of the stupid phone that she’s been yaking on for OVER AN HOUR. Patience while you’re waiting for the new, absolutely-amazing-awesome-beyond-words, Skillet CD to FINALLY grace the Best Buy shelves…. *innocent look* 😉

Things patience constitute as patience while you wait for something to happen. Like the microwave to beep. Or the Baby Ruth bar to fall ever so slowly from the metal clutches of the vending machine. Or, if you’re like me, waiting in agony for, I don’t know, 26 seconds, as you wait for your crush to respond to one of your texts… *nervous chuckle*

It’s waiting for Christmas. Birthdays. The weekend. When Mom can get out of the shower. You get what I mean.

Bless my father, although he has good people patience, he has horrible things patience. A great example of this can be seen when we’re watching a DVD, for I have control of the DVD remote!! Muahahaha!!

Picture this: Dad and I are in the den, Dad sitting in his chair, and I sitting on the green leather sofa. A lamp and endtable is between said pieces of furniture. The TV is blinking as the DVD loads. The FBI warning label is filling the screen.

Dad: *as he waves his hands dramatically* “Can you make this go faster?”

Me: *sigh* “No, Dad, I can’t make it go faster. You’re gonna have to (insert gasp) sit through this part.”

Dad: “But I thought you figured out how to make it go faster!”

Me: “Just because I can make it go faster doesn’t mean I should make it go faster. We’re learning patience, remember?”

The anti-piracy label fills the screen.

Dad: “But we’ve already seen this! We don’t need to see it again.”

Me: “So? It’s only for 30 seconds! Look, the menu is already coming up.”

I press the Play button. Then press the Captions button. Scroll through to English captions. The opening credits fill the screen.

Dad: “Make the credits go away! Let’s get to the action!”

Me: *while staring incredulously at Dad* “But I want to see who’s stars in this movie!”

Opening music plays in the background

Dad:  “You already know who stars in this movie! You’re you, remember?”

Dad’s eyebrows rise. Music gets louder

Me: *tilts head* “… true. But we had to sit through this at the theater, so we can sit through it here.

Dad: “But nothing happens here! This doesn’t add to the story! Get to the action!”

Me: *shakes head at guy logic* “You don’t know that! Something could happen in the opening credits. Remember True Lies? Or The Score? Or Deja Vu?

Dad: “But…”

You can see where this is going. By the time we get to the end of this discussion (aka, Dad has ‘conceded’ to the fact that, yes, he needs to learn patience, by getting quiet), the credits are already over and the action has begun.

There. You can see that Dad has no things patience. While I apparently do. At least when it comes to movies. (I personally don’t believe I have things patience. I get all antsy and annoyed if someone doesn’t respond to my IMs within 30 seconds…)

So. If those are two kinds of patience (remember, this is just the definition I’m working with. I can be wrong), then how does God expect us to be patient? Which patience are we talking about? While searching for the answer, I came across references like this:

“I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry.” ~ Psalm 40:1.

“A man’s wisdom gives him patience; it is his glory to overlook an offense.” ~ Proverbs 19:11.

“I waited patiently till dawn, but like a lion he broke all my bones; day and night you made an end of me.” ~ Isaiah 38:13.

“The servant fell on his knees before him. ‘Be patient with me,’ he begged, ‘and I will pay back everything.’ ” ~ Matthew 18:26.

“What if God, choosing to show his wrath and make his power known, bore with great patience the objects of his wrath-prepared for destruction?” ~ Romans 9:22.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.” ~ 1 Cor. 13:4.

… I could go on and on. What I’ve gathered from those references is that 1). People patience is tied in with love. If the 2nd greatest command is to love your neighbor as yourself, would you want someone else to be patient with you? Of course. So being patient with others is, in a way, loving others.

2). Having ‘things’ patience, as in waiting for something to happen, is a form of submission and trust in God’s sovereignty. If you’re like me, waiting patiently for ‘The One’ *insert ominious voice* is a battle of patience every single day. I have to step back and go “Okay, God. I know You have this under control. I am going to be patient. Pining for this to happen is not gonna make it come any sooner.”

This philosophy of course applies to smaller things, like waiting for the Skillet CD to come out, or for Christmas to finally arrive. Complaining every day for it to come faster will not make it come faster. In fact, it only exaserbates the problem.  Complaining about something is just a waste of your time and is annoying for anyone you’re complaining about it to. And that’s not loving, is it? *glares* 😉

And 3). We need both of these. I can’t use this as an excuse anymore. “Well, I’m sorta patient with people, so I don’t have to be patient about graduation, right?” Or “Well, I didn’t say a word about that new book coming out. So I’m not that bad if I blow up at so-and-so. Right?” No.

So, where does that leave us? Well, the question that I’ve been asking myself is this: How long?

Isn’t that the question we all ask? “You have to wait for your birthday to come for that.” We then immediately calculate, to the day, how long it is till the birthday. Or “You have to babysit your brother” We then think about how many minutes exactly it’ll be till the parents get home. So we can answer the question of how long?

Then, of course, you have the biggie question. How long are you willing to wait for ‘The One’?

When you ask those question, what is your response? You might find that the answers aren’t as pretty as you would like.

Ttfn.

😀

P.S. I make a new blogging law! If you’ve read up to this point in the post, you are now, and forevermore, under both the social and moral obligation to REPLY to this and subsequent posts. I really like knowing that someone is actually reading this stuff. I don’t care if I don’t know you from Adam. Say whatever the heck is on your mind! Posting=discussion. Even if you’re thinking “I like cheese”, comment! *glares at Max.* 😉 Seriously. If you did post something like that, I’ll laugh. And that’ll make my day. 😀 😀 😀

“Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.” ~ Psalm 37:7.

3 responses

  1. rachel

    I like cheese!!! And mashed taters, and cake, and…..

    Lol, no really. After reading the above post, perhaps I shall start with answering some of the “questions” you posted (at least the answers for me). To me it’s not so much of a “things” and “People” patients, only short-term and long-term patients. I tend to find it easier to wait for things if they are long-term (like out further then a month, or a year depending on what it is). For with short-term I get all wrapped up in the ‘here and now’ that I forget to look beyond my bubble.

    On another note, the Bible references posted above, to me, seem to not so much be referring to love per se. It’s seems to be talking about the God kind of patients. Where you don’t get angry, or frustrated, or disappointed because others don’t get what you’re saying the first time around (which I do sometimes). Rather you try saying it again (in a different way) until they understand. Or you wait a few seconds to reply, so that you can bite back or get rid of any negative feelings that might start to rise. This to me seems to be part of what the verses talk about.
    The other kind of more Humanly patients talked about in the Bible, to me, is the kind that will wait when another says “I’ll be right back/there”, trusting that what that persons says is true. This kind of patients is easier (to me) in the short term, rather then the long term. Like with right now, I’m having trouble waiting when God says “I do have a plan for your life, it just doesn’t involve me showing this plan to you right now”. But on the other hand I find it easy to have patients when God says “I do have some one for you to marry, but for right now I call you to be single.”….

    Now I don’t know if this post makes any sense. But I hope it helps. 🙂

    September 8, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol I’m SO sorry I haven’t posted before now. After reading what you said, I wanted to take some time to think about it before I responded, and before I knew it, almost a week had passed. Please forgive me. 🙂

      I understand what you mean by ‘short term’ and ‘long term’ patience, but I’ll submit that I think they’re both mutually inclusive, and not different concepts. You can have ‘short term’ patience with people, like when you’re pulling out of your driveway, and your mom says, “I forgot something inside. Let me go grab it.” You’re still being patient with her (by the fact that you’re tolerating she forgot something), and it still constitutes as ‘short term’ patience (by the fact it’ll only take her 5 minutes to grab whatever she forgot). You can also have ‘long term’ patience with someone if they’re fighting some bad habit, or they go on a mission trip for a year. You’re still waiting for them to do *something*, whether it be eventually conquering said bad habit, or returning from said mission trip, or whatever the case might be.

      You can also have ‘short term’ patience with material things too. Like waiting for the Skillet CD (which I finally got ahold of, btw. YAY! 🙂 ) You can wait for something like that for like 6 months while you’re waiting for it to come out, or for the prices to drop. You can also have ‘long term’ patience with things too. About 2 years ago, I asked my uncle to build a closet-like-thing for my room, and I’m still waiting for him to finish it… 😉

      With regards to what you said about the Scripture references, I didn’t mean to say that they’re referring to love. I’m trying to say that love is what *motivates* the patience. Whether it being patient with God as you wait for your future, or being patient when you’re talking to someone and they don’t understand you, or being patient with your mom when she forgets something inside, you’re still being patient with them because you love them.

      Now you could ask something like “Well, what if I’m in line at the grocery store and I’m waiting for the people in front of me? I’m not being patient with them because I love them. I don’t know them from Adam…” (a great example of short term patience, btw :D)

      No, you might not love those people, but as Christians, we’re called to imitate Christ. And Christ was patient. If He were in line at the grocery store, He would be patient with those people not only because He loves them, but also because He’s God and that’s His nature. So as Christians, we’re called to love those people in line as well (love your neighbor as yourself), even if we don’t know them. And a way to love them is to be patient with them (thus where 1Cor 13:4 comes in).

      Like I said, I could be wrong about ‘people’ patience and ‘things’ patience. Those terms are total Lauren-isms. And I’m not claiming to be an expert. Far from it. But that’s what I’ve observed in myself and those around me while we’re being patient, or lack thereof. 😉

      Btw, I know how you feel when it comes to trusting God when He says “I have a plan for you, I’m not just gonna show it to you right now.” It’s a battle we can fight together, eh?

      Anyway, that’s just my rambling thoughts on the subject. 🙂

      September 13, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  2. Rachel

    You said post for the discussion, yet I see no discussion… POST!!!!

    September 12, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

