“Love is just a word until someone comes along and gives it meaning.”

Love is such a common word, isn’t it? It’s probably the most popular word in the English language. And in my opinion, it’s also the most misunderstood.

If you think about it, people say the word ‘love’ to apply to SO many different things. “I love triple chocolate fudge cake.” Or “I really love Rachel’s hair.” Or “I love Darian to death.” Or “I would love for the Chicago Cubs to win the World Series for once.”

So then what does love mean? According to the ultimate sovereign authority that is *coughcough* Dictionary.com,  love is… a lot of different things. You have “a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.” Or you have “a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.” Or you have “strong predilection, enthusiasm, or liking for anything.”  Or you even have “sexual passion or desire.” I personally don’t think that last definition is really love, but it was on Dictionary.com’s list.

So, according to the culture, love is a variety of things. For the Christian, I would have to say love equates to one word; God. It even says so in Scripture:

 “And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” 1 John 4:16.

Figuring out everything this answer entails however, is another question entirely. God is love. And God is infinite. So if we’re to put the two together, we’re back where we started. So…

For the purpose of this post, I would say that love is ‘desiring the good of another’. If you truly love someone, you want what’s best for them, and you’ll do whatever you can to make sure of that. Either through both action and inaction.

So… my question is this. It says in Song of Solomon 8:4 

“Daughters of Jerusalem, I charge you:
       Do not arouse or awaken love
       until it so desires.”

…I think this kind  differs from the definition I just described. This is describing romantic love.  That all consuming, obstacle defying, flying-over-the-moon magical kind of love… right?

And if it is, for the life of me, I can’t figure out how in the world you’re supposed to do that!! People tell me all the time ‘You can’t control your emotions. Only your actions.’ Okay. I agree with that. But you look around in the culture, and even your circle of friends, and this all consuming craziness still goes on around you. And people don’t necessarily control their actions that well, either. So how on earth can you not ‘awaken’ love? Is it possible to control when you fall in love or not? Or with who? I see my friends starting to dabble in this kind of stuff, and it worries me…

Haha, I say ‘dabble’ like it’s voodoo or something… 😉

Anyway, that’s all I wanted to say.

Ttfn.

😀

Ha! Just when you thought I was gonna do a post without a video…. BOOM! There it is. 😉 If it makes you feel any better, it is actually relevant to this post. I think this would’ve been a really great crossover song… Go Brandy! 😉

Okay, seriously

Ttfn.

😀

6 responses

  1. It seems maybe it’s possible to control one’s emotions at least to some extent… of course not to the extent one can control his actions, certainly, but I would say seemingly to some extent. You can mold the way you think by driving thought patterns into your head… so it seems like it would apply to emotions too. I think if you really wanted to you could control when you fall in love… you just have to very very harshly control yourself. Most people don’t have that sort of will power. lol I mean who wouldn’t want to fall in love? Perhaps after the fact people look back on it and say “I wish I never had fallen in love…” because of the pain of the break afterwards, but generally speaking the state of obsession or infatuation is a fairly… desirable… druglike… state… at least in my uninformed observation… 😉

    August 11, 2009 at 8:11 am

    • bestseller2b

      Lol well if we have the ability to control who we fall in love with, even though it’s excruciatingly hard, does that mean God *calls* us to do so, according to Song of Solomon? 🙂

      August 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

  2. rachel

    Humm, in the case of Song-of-Solomon, since it is a “love story” to some extent, I would have to say that it is referring to romance love.

    With that being said, while I do not believe it possible to not fall in love, I do believe it is possible to bounce your mind off of said love. For me it normally happens that I tend to meet a guy, becomes friend of said guy, then start to wonder what it would be like to marry him (No comments, Lauren Emma Hollbrook Palmer). So I’ve been getting use to “bouncing” my thoughts off of the romance side of things (Read the book ‘Every young women’s battle’ for a better idea of what I’m talking about), therefore avoiding awakening love. 🙂

    So yah, hope that perhaps might give you a different point of view to think on. 🙂

    August 11, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol yeah, that makes sense. But what happens if you try as hard as you can to ‘bounce’ off the romantic side, but you still find yourself falling in love anyway? What do you do? 🙂

      August 12, 2009 at 1:14 pm

  3. rachel

    Lol, that where the whole “I’m not going to start dating till I’m 18” comes into play. Since I’ve put such a limit on myself, it keeps me from continuing down the path of romance. Though it is helpful to have friends that keep you on track. Besides telling myself that I can’t “do anything” till I’m 18 makes me distance myself from feelings, and take a critical look at whom ever it is I’m am finding myself liking. If I happen to find most, if not all, of the qualities that I’m looking for, then I’ll keep the guy as an option for when I’m old enough. If he doesn’t match up, then I’ll keep him as a friend. 🙂

    Hope that helps. 🙂

    August 12, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol it does somewhat. You have more patience and willpower than I. Saying that “I can’t do anything” just makes me feel surpressed. But that’s cause I’m more rebellious than I should be. 😉

      August 13, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

