Concerning self image…

Wow. That sounded really science-ish. 😉

Of course, this post comes to life because I should be working my last official school paper of the year, but I’m not sure what I want to say, so I’m hoping writing a post will give me inspiration. At least, that’s the current excuse. 🙂 My parents will think I am working on the paper, since I’m typing so much. 😉

If you’re a human being, especially a teenager, then of course you know about self-image. As a Christian, I struggle with the fine line between having a ‘healthy’ self image, and pride. Some days I’m never happy with how I look. Or how loud I can be. Or my incessant habit of talking to myself… Next thing I know, I think I’m queen of the world. Not the best thought process to follow, but I’m working on it. 😉

Throughout the past semester, my mom has been doing a Bible Study on 1 and 2 Peter, and since then, 2 Peter 2:13 keeps going through my mind.

I think it is right to refresh your memory as long as I live in the tent of this body” Peter is describing his body as a ‘tent’. This was the last letter Peter wrote, as his martyrdom was coming, and he was expressing how he will soon put aside his ‘tent’ and be united with Christ.

That got me thinking. Tent. If you’re out in the desert somewhere, or maybe outside in the woods, and it started to rain and hail, and all you had for protection was a tent, you would of course go and take shelter under it, right? You wouldn’t care what color the tent is or how big or small it was. You wouldn’t care if it had a stain on it. You wouldn’t peek outside the tent and go “Oh, look at So and So’s tent. It’s purple. How dare they have a purple tent!” And you wouldn’t look at your tent and go “My tent is green. Ick. I don’t like this tent! I want a different one!”

Who would you do that? It’s just a tent! Eventually, when the storm is over, you’re gonna take it down and walk away. Nobody will care if your tent is green, or how big it was, or whether or not it had a big stain on it. It served it’s purpose; it protected you from the storm. All our bodies are are ‘vessels’. They get us from Point A to Point B.

Of course, it’s important to take care of the tent. If your tent got a huge hole it in, you of course are going to repair it. You want your tent to function as efficiently as possible. And maybe you’ll hang up a thing or two to make it look nicer. Just because.  My point is that you shouldn’t take care and repair the tent because you want your tent to look better than someone else’s.  Because in the end, you’re just gonna take it down and walk away. There’s no point in worrying about it. Life is soooo much bigger than that!

Another verse that came to mind was this.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?”

I could be interpreting this verse wrong, but what jumped off the page was the ‘don’t worry about your body’ part. I have my days, when I get all worried because I’m little, or because I’m not so little in all the wrong places. I get worried that I eat to much, or don’t work out enough, or my hair is too different or my clothes are not in style. But I shouldn’t. There’s no point to worry about it. God has it all under control. When we place our validation in Him, worrying about those things just dissipates.

Sigh. Well, I’ve probably wasted enough time on this post. Time to go back to my paper. Darn…

Ttfn. 😉

Leave a Reply

