The writer’s heart inside me rejoices! ;)

It’s about time I posted something actually relevant to writing, don’t you think?

I was reading C.S Lewis’s Letters to Children the other day, when I came across this list of writing tips;

1. Always try to use the language so as to make quite clear what you mean and make sure your sentences couldn’t mean anything else.

2. Always prefer the plain direct words to the long vague one. Don’t implement promises, but keep them.

3. Never use abstract nouns when concrete ones will do. If you mean ‘More people died’ don’t say ‘Mortality rose.’

4. In writing. Don’t use adjectives which merely tell us how you want us to feel about the thing you are describing. I mean, instead of telling us a thing was ‘terrible’, describe it so that we’ll be terrified. Don’t say it was ‘delightful’; make us say ‘delightful’ when we’ve read the description. You see, all those words (horrifying, wonderful, hideous, exquisite) are only like saying to your readers “Please will you do your job for me”. ( I will confess, I utterly failed at this until I recognized what I was doing ;))

5. Don’t use words to big for the subject. Don’t say ‘infinitely’ when you mean ‘very’; otherwise you’ll have no word left when you want to talk about something really infinite.

Don’t you just love C.S Lewis? He was absolutely amazing. 😀

*goes to implement writing suggestions into stories. Watches them come to life. Is ecstatic beyond words.*

lewis

2 responses

  1. sereniteacafe

    THAT IS AMAZING! “If you mean ‘more people died’, don’t say ‘mortality rose’!” I ❤ CS Lewis! 😀

    May 29, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    • bestseller2b

      I thought it was cute because he gave ‘adult’ (lol) writing tips to little kids. 😉

      May 29, 2009 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

