I was born an American; I will live an American; I shall die an American! – Daniel Webster

I don’t know about you, but for me personally, I haven’t felt very patriotic. Seeing all of the events unfolding around us such as the presidential election and the laws they’re trying to pass against Christianity is disconcerting, to say the least.Β  I’ve gotten to the point that I don’t even like being an American. The idea of moving to a different country so I don’t have to deal with all of the crap that’s going on here now is very appealing.

Then I came across a Jump5 CD that I absolutely loved when I was young. I thought I had lost it when I moved here, but I found it the yesterday when I was cleaning the house. “What once was lost has now been found. Was blind, but now I see I should have put it back in it’s proper CD case instead of putting it in the Veggie Tales Christmas CD case…” *nervous chuckle* πŸ˜‰

Anyway! When I listened to this song, it got me thinking. Even though America has it’s issues and the moral decay of our country is saddening, and even though the United States is no longer considered a Christian nation as it was meant to be,Β  I’m still proud to be an America. Think about it. People from other countries dream about coming here so they can have the freedom and liberty that natural born Americans often take for granted. They come here to get away from the tyranny and oppression that they suffer in their own countries. Now, I understand that America suffers from a different kind of oppression, but it could be worse. It could be a lot worse.

We live in a corrupt world. Moral decay is to be expected in any country and culture. Just look at ancient Greece and Rome. But the reasons America was founded were honorable, and I’m proud of that.

Even though America is no longer considered a Christian nation, at least it was at one point! That’s better than nothing! As long as there are people in this country who are willing to fight for Christianity and our lost purpose, the reason America was founded will never die. For all things are possible with God. πŸ˜€ At least we still have the right to worship and preach without the fear of legal persecution. And we have men and women who leave everything they know behind so they can go fight for our rights and freedoms. So American can still be a symbol of hope.

Imagine you lost everything you had; your dreams, hopes, and even physical possesions, and you had to start over, would you rather be in America or some other country?

No matter it’s problems, America is still currently the greatest country on earth, and it still stands for freedom.

american_eagle_and_flag

But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:31

4 responses

  1. sereniteacafe

    Mmm, good point…I’ve been feeling decidedly unpatriotic lately too…

    I am wondering though, why do you say it’s still the greatest country on earth? *cocks head* πŸ™‚

    May 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol I only mean that it’s the greatest country considering individual liberty and opportunities for building a better future. πŸ™‚

      May 17, 2009 at 1:19 pm

  2. sereniteacafe

    Hmm. And does that equal best overall? (I love devil’s advocate! πŸ˜‰ )

    May 17, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol of course not. πŸ™‚ There’s a difference between greatest/best and good. πŸ˜‰

      May 17, 2009 at 1:31 pm

Leave a Reply

