“Your friend is the man who knows all about you, and still likes you.”

Love does not consist of gazing at each other, but in looking together in the same direction. Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

Lol I know it’s been awhile since my last post, but it’s harder than it sounds to come up with a topic that you haven’t already touched on. By now, you’d get annoyed with it and I aspire to be more creative than that. πŸ˜‰

I guess I could talk about this Kelly Clarkson song I was listening to today.

I thought it was both funny and annoying because it’s such a great example of the human mentality. Not just for relationships, but just for things in general. You don’t really appreciate something until you’ve lost it. Imagine all of the problems we could avoid if we just got our act together before we break someone else’s heart.

I believe the reason that so many relationships fail in today’s culture is because we’ve believed the lie that relationships only work as long as the other person makes ME happy. Umm… why do you think so many relationships fail? Humanity is self-centered and fickle. Once the other person isn’t making us happy, we walk away instead of solving the problem.Β  Jesus Christ, the BEST authority when it comes to, you know, everything gives us the solution to this problem.

He answered: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'” Luke 10:27

Christ lived this out in everything he did in his life. He loved us enough to die for us, so that we might love others in return.

I get it; love is complicated. Just look at 1 Cor 13. But the only way relationships of any kind will flourish is if you keep Christ and His plan for your life as your main focus, and to love the other person unconditionally, regardless of whether or not they reciprocate. (Easier said than done, I know. Don’t take my life as a role model in that respect. I’m mean and angry and hurt when it comes to some relationships, and I’m not willing to forgive. But I’m working on it. ;))Β  But… you love them regardless of what they’ll give you, regardless of whether or not they make YOU happy, regardless of their dark moods and when they snap at you, regardless of how they hurt you… Not only that, you do what’s best for them. It’s an impossible feat to accomplish by yourself. That’s why Christ answers to love the LORD your God first. Not only because He’s the God of the universe and He deserves it, but because as long as you’re walking with God, doing all of these things will flow naturally from that. Because Christ was like that. No matter how much you might deny it, you are still influenced by the things you read, the music you listen to, and especially the people you interact with. So if you call Christ your friend, then you’ll start acting like Him. And that’s what the world needs now more than ever. πŸ˜€

I believe the driving principle behind relationships, and especially marriage, is that you do everything you can, through Christ’s power, to help the other person be all God has made them to be. To reach their full potential.

Now, I know that I don’t live this out nearly as much as I should. Dying a little every day to your sinful nature is the road less traveled, but like I said,Β  I’m working on it. I’m just saying that if you want to know why the divorce rate in this country is so high, why breakups are so painful and awkward and crazy, just look at the motives behind relationships.

Anyway, that was totally random and not what I was thinking would come out of my head when I started this post, but oh well. I hope it’s thought provocking. Better to learn this lesson now than pay the price later. πŸ˜€

Ttfn. πŸ™‚

9 responses

  1. sereniteacafe

    Great post, laur πŸ™‚ Is the title a Lauren-ism?

    May 15, 2009 at 11:03 am

    • bestseller2b

      Lol actually it’s a quote I found somewhere. πŸ˜€

      May 15, 2009 at 11:04 am

  2. sereniteacafe

    lol its a good quote…

    May 15, 2009 at 11:22 am

    • bestseller2b

      Lol that it is. πŸ˜€ Taking that quote to heart will probably help in the self esteem campaign. πŸ˜‰

      May 15, 2009 at 11:23 am

  3. sereniteacafe

    πŸ™‚

    May 15, 2009 at 11:35 am

    • bestseller2b

      πŸ˜€

      May 15, 2009 at 11:35 am

  4. Matthew

    well said. thinking deep is not my strong suite. but it seems I have been doing alot of it lately.

    May 16, 2009 at 8:52 am

    • bestseller2b

      Lol when important and amazing things and/or people *coughDariancough* come into your life, you can’t help but think about them. πŸ˜‰

      May 16, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    • sereniteacafe

      You, my love, are quite good at thinking deep. You just need more practice πŸ™‚

      May 18, 2009 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

