I LOVE beaches. :) :) :)

83012114

Pretty picture, huh? This image was in my mind when I was writing this story.

…. and here’s another story having to do with a beach. It’s one of my best stories.

First, I felt only a breeze. The wind’s cool gentle fingers stroked my face as it whistled in my ears. Tendrils of hair caressed my neck as I struggled against the quiet strength of the wind. Then I felt something cool beneath my feet. Inhaling deeply, I flexed my toes. The foreign substance slid across the soles of my feet as my skirt twirled around my legs. I drew my head towards the sky, arms outstretched, as I drank in the relaxing sensations. Slowly, I opened my eyes.

Vibrant light gleamed into my face as I took in the sapphire blue,tan, and orange. Gentle waves stroked the polished beach I stood on as I gazed toward the setting sun. Beams of light and warmth flickered in every direction as it sank into the horizon with celestial grace. Impulsively, I glided toward the waves, as if the ocean itself was calling me. The breeze kissed my cheeks. The waves enveloped my ankles. Majestic birds flew overhead, their angelic cries beaconing me to stop. I smiled in exultation, the beauty around me too stunning to comprehend.

The breeze fluttered past my ear, and I turned. Standing in the water beside me was a man whose very presence was divine, his eyes both friendly and soft. Gazing, as if captivated, he smiled, his face alight with joy. Instinctively, I knew this man was my Lover, my most intimate friend. He reached his hand out to me, and I took it without fear. Gently, he guided me down the shore, our feet gliding across the sand as the waves lapped against our legs.

As we walked, my thoughts wandered. Images of blood and pain flashed through my head, thought it seemed so out of place in this moment. All of the struggles we had gone through flickered back from forgotten places in my mind. Although I had cried then, I felt no need to mourn now. My soul was completely at rest.

I glanced at my Lover. I could see on his face that similar thoughts were going through his mind too. Then he stopped, his eyes sweeping across the endless water. I stopped as well and followed his gaze. I fixed my eyes on the distant waves, their hushed roar drowning my morbid thoughts.

“Do you believe it was worth it now?” My Lover finally asked. I blinked, searching for an answer. The memories from the moment before flooded back.

I remembered first meeting my Lover and the childlike shyness I felt when I first accepted his offer. I remembered the crippling fiery pain that scarred my heart when I learned I had been betrayed. I knew my Lover understood, for he himself had been betrayed.

I remembered the tears of longing I had cried when I was all alone and not one person in the world knew my pain. Even then, I knew my Lover was there, bottling my tears. He had pleaded. “I am here, beloved! I will never leave you! You will never be alone! I am here.”

I remembered my astonished excitement when I first believed I was truly beautiful. I remembered the sealing finality I had felt as I cast off the lies of the world. My Lover had smiled then, for every day, he had coaxed me to believe in what He thought of me instead of what the world thought.

I remembered the indescribable joy I had felt when my heart’s desire had been met, thought he joy of that moment was nothing compared to the joy I felt now as I watched the waves with my Lover.

I remembered the searing pain of loss I felt when my Lover called my heart’s desire away from me. I had struggled with all my strength to honor my Lover anyway, for He had given, and He had taken away. Sometimes I succeeded, sometimes not. Through it all, my Lover was patient and compassionate toward me, despite my anger. He had held his hand out to me, calling “I love you. I love you.” to my soul again and again until finally I returned to him.

I remembered the satisfaction I had felt when I shared my gifts to a dying world. I remembered reveling in my Lover’s joy as he whispered to my heart, “I’m so proud of you. Keep going.” I remembered long cold nights when I struggled with all I had to keep fighting, despite the crushing pressure of the world. But my Lover still held his hand out to me, raised me to my feet, and kept walking with me, just as we walked now through the gentle waves of the sea.

And I remembered dancing. The unparalleled sensation of flying through eternity on gentle wings. The feeling of knowing that pain, grief, anger, fear, or loneliness couldn’t touch me. The feeling of freedom.

I was so lost in my thoughts that at first I didn’t realize what my Lover was doing. He raised our hands above my head and spun me around. Stepping back, he pulled me toward him, the waves never breaking his stride. Holding both my hands now, he guided me up the beach in two smooth steps. Then he raised our hands and spun me again, and I realized what was happening.

We were dancing. The King of Kings, the sustainer of the universe, the Lover of my soul, who knew my every heart’s desire, was dancing with me. Laughter bubbled out of me, and my heart soared. At last, at long last, I was free.

My Lover smiled at the sound of my laughter, and he spun me again, my hair twirling gently behind me. The more I immersed myself in the movement of the dance, the more intimate I felt with him. Our shared bliss grew to the point that before I knew it, we were skipping down the beach as we danced. We never missed a step, never broke stride.

Soon I was laughing so hard tears streamed down my face. We stopped dancing, and my Lover tipped his head to one side, studying my face. A smiled played on the corners of his mouth, and I giggled. His smile grew wider. Without warning, he swept me up in his arms, as if I weighed nothing, and started walking down the beach. Peace and assurance fell over me like a blanket, and I snuggled closer to his chest.

The smooth rhythm of his stride caused my eyes to grow heavy. Past tension and stress drained out of my as I breathed in his scent. Neither of us spoke for a moment until finally I murmured.

“Yes. It was worth it.”

And I closed my eyes.

I hope they have beaches in Heaven. 😀

4 responses

  1. sereniteacafe

    I’ve loved all of your writing, but i really think this is your best yet…. good job, Laur. 🙂

    May 3, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol thanks. I think it is too. 😀

      May 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm

  2. Not bad for a 16-year-old with a thing for guys at Wal-Mart… ;P

    March 2, 2012 at 1:44 am

    • bestseller2b

      Psh, I was a homeschooler, what can I say? 😉

      March 2, 2012 at 1:58 am

Leave a Reply

