Urgh… people are complicated.

There are times when I entertain the thought of becoming both a writer and a psychologist (scary, isn’t it?). Or maybe just a counselor. I’m not sure I would be good at the prescription part of the psychology world. This may sound hypocritical because in an earlier post, I…might’ve (heehee) gotten a bit upset about a lady I know who likes to psycho analyze everybody. I only said that because I don’t agree with the way she approaches it. She gives off the impression she can predict everybody’s actions and thoughts and dreams and ideas simply because she read a book about their personality type. The human mind is vast, and capable of all kinds of unique and spontaneous decisions. If you psycho analyze people that way, thinking you can predict everything they do, then you limit their potential. But I digress.

I guess the reason I like to entertain this thought is because I like mysteries. I like TV shows like Psych and Monk and Remington Steele(how many of you have watched THAT show?) and Banacek (or that one?) which are all mystery shows. I also like bank heist movies because I like figuring out how they did it, who did it and why. In the same way, I like mysteries of the human mind. Why does she think that way? Why would he do that? What influenced their worldviews?

Since I find most of the people I know don’t like to be psycho analyzed, I find I usually psycho analyze myself.ย  It’s good practice, I suppose. It’s during this passage of my life I need to understand what I believe and why more than ever, since now is the time I’ll be making decisions that will forever affect my life. Thus why you’ll see post like the one about jealousy. You can’t believe how excited I was when I figured out the root cause of jealousy is insecurity. Okay, so maybe *excited* isn’t the right word….

That’s also one of the reasons I like to read books like Personality Plus and Captivating and Wild at Heart. (If you haven’t read Captivating and Wild at Heart, then I suggest you go read it NOW before I hunt you down and make you read it!! *angelic expression*) Captivating revolutionized my thinking and has helped me understand both my heart and the hearts of my friends.ย  Wild at Heart was also extremely helpful, but I concede I will never understand a guy’s mind. And they think girls are complicated…ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.beliefnet.com/Faiths/Christianity/2005/09/Theres-Something-Fierce-In-The-Heart-Of-A-Woman.aspx?p=1- a great article by John and Stasi Eldredge about their books Wild at Heart and Captivating.

I usually think about psychological questions while I’m trying to go to sleep because it helps calm me down. So the other night, I thought of this question. Every girl is looking for her knight in shining armor, or her Prince Charming. What exactly is the Knight in Shining Armor? Every girl knows intuitively what the concept is, but I’ve yet to hear an explanation about what he is and why girls want that. Sigh

And of course, you have the question that has been plaguing humanity since the beginning of time. Why is it your judgment is clearer when you’re talking to friends or people you trust, but when it comes to people you’re attracted to, all common sense, security and understanding of human nature goes flying out the window? Sigh.

Any thoughts?

P.S. HAPPY RESURRECTION DAY!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

8 responses

  1. sereniteacafe

    The Knight in Shining armor…
    lets see. The protecter, defender, rescuer, provider…the person who lets us be weak and values us because of it. Why do we want that? Because wwe as girls are meant to be weak, emotional, and soft. That’s how God made us and it takes a LOT of effort to be something else! The Knight in Shining Armor is essentially the person who lets us be that. Doesn’t condemn it, just works with it and is happy with it and values it. So yeah….did that make any sense?

    April 14, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Umm… I don’t agree when you say women are weak, and that’s how God created us. We are the weaker sex, yes, but we are NOT weak. We are made in the image of God, and God is the God of strength. I agree that it’s man’s role to portray and extend his strength to others, especially woman, but women have a unique strength as well.

      When you say girls are meant to be weak, I take that more as we’re meant to desire or want to be protected. With the Fall, feminine strength got twisted into compulsive dominance. That’s why we have movements like the Feminists.

      But other than that, I agree with what you said. ๐Ÿ˜€

      April 14, 2009 at 4:36 pm

  2. sereniteacafe

    Yes, that’s what I mean. And yes we have our own kind of strength. I guess by weak I mean…emotionally fragile. if that makes sense ๐Ÿ™‚

    April 14, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    • bestseller2b

      That makes more sense. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think we can be emotionally fragile, but there is also an emotional strength too. Sometimes emotion is what’s needed. Life would get very boring very quickly if we were all Vulcans or something….

      April 14, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  3. sereniteacafe

    Exactly! you’re like putting into words what I can’t figure otu how to say! ๐Ÿ˜€

    April 14, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol well that’s good. I am supposed to be the writer. Words are my forte. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      April 14, 2009 at 5:02 pm

  4. sereniteacafe

    Lol they most certainly ARE your forte! ๐Ÿ™‚

    April 14, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    • bestseller2b

      Lol I try. Thesaurus.com is my friend. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      April 14, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Leave a Reply

