To read or not to read…..

No book that will not improve by repeated readings deserves to be read at all. –Thomas Carlyle

So I was relaxing in my room, avoiding biology homework, (We’re working on Punnett squares. Ick) when I noticed a copy of the Five Languages of Apology on my dresser. I bought it when I was at the Writer for the Soul conference in Colorado Springs. I’ve already read the Five Love Languages along with countless other similar self-help books, and it just kind of hit me.

I read a lot more than I think I do.

That’s a good thing, I suppose, since I want to be a writer. The #1 tip professional writers will give to aspiring writers like me is to read, read, read! I was watching Jeopardy once and the winner told Alex that she had read at least 751 books since the early 1970’s. I heard that and I though “Only 751? That’s not much.”

Ha.

All last year I had kept a list of all the books I had read. That included books I had never read before and had actually finished before December 31. Me, being me, I of course was reading book #40 at 11:30 the night before my self imposed deadline.

You can always tell a lot about a person by the books on their shelf. (You can also tell a lot about a woman by what she has in her purse, if she even has one, that is. I don’t have one. Purses are way too girly…. But I digress.) So if you want to get a better look into the complex infrastructure known as the Aspiring Author’s Mind, here’s a list of things on my bookshelf. Or rather, a list of the piles of books stacked up on my dresser next to the recliner chair I rarely sit in.

*(The aforementioned)Five Languages of Apology- Gary Chapman and Jennifer Thomas.

*The Five Love Languages- Gary Chapman.

*Personality Plus- Florence Littauer.

*Captivating – John and Stasi Eldredge. (Absolutely AMAZING!! It definitely changed my thinking)

*Wild at Heart- John Eldredge. (Just as amazing as the other one, even if I don’t relate to it as well. Look ’em up if you don’t understand what I mean. 😉 )

Lies Young Women Believe- Nancy Leigh DeMoss and Dannah Gresh.

The Art of Fiction- John Gardener.

The Scene Book- Sandra Scofield.

Getting into Character- Brandilyn Collins. (I actually got to meet this woman in real life. She’s really cool.)

Fiction Demystified- Thomas B. Sawyer. (Have you guess yet what genre I want to write?)

*The Great Divorce- C.S Lewis.

*23 Minutes in Hell- Bill Wiese. (This book is really cool.)

*90 Minutes in Heaven- Don Piper.

(Pretty large stack, huh?)

….. and Fiction!!

*Lord Foulgrin’s Letters- Randy Alcorn. (A contemporary version of the Screwtape Letters.)

*The Ishbane Conspiracy- also Randy Alcorn. ( If you are the age of 28 or younger, you MUST read this book!!)

The Lightening Thief- Rick Riordan.

Like Dandelion Dust- Karen Kingsbury. ( I got to meet this woman in real life too. She autographed my copy) 🙂

*The Screwtape Letters- C.S Lewis.

Unpretty- Sharon Carter Rogers.

Any book with a * next to it, I heartily recommend you read!! They’re totally worth it and will change your life, (or at least your current thinking).

…. so yeah. I read a lot. When I get bored, I’m sure I post and explain what the 5 love languages are along with the 5 languages of apology. I’ll also post about Personality Plus and the concepts Florences Littauer demonstrated. I love books like that because I like to understand why people think and act a certain way and why I think and act a certain way.  But again, I digress.

Ttfn. 🙂

 A book worth reading at all is worth reading more than once. —William Gerhardie

2 responses

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    March 19, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    • bestseller2b

      I’m glad you think so. 🙂

      March 24, 2009 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

